About BRTC | Baltimore Metropolitan Council

Commuting Cost Calculator

  • Your round trip mileage from home to work :
  • Number of days per week you work :
  • Total Mile You Commute Every Week :
  • Number of weeks you work per year :
  • Total Miles You Commute Per Year :
  • Average 2019 cost per mile for automobile operation as estimated by the American Automobile Association includes fuel, insurance, depreciation, maintenance. :
  • Total Yearly Cost of Your Commute:

About BRTC


The Baltimore Regional Transit Commission (BRTC) was established by Chapter 540, Acts of 2023 to review and comment on annual budget requests of the Maryland Department of Transportation - Maryland Transit Administration (MDOT-MTA), provide updates to the Central Maryland Transportation Plan and various annual reports, and to perform oversight and advocacy duties related to Baltimore region transit services. The BRTC comprises representatives from local government, transportation, industry, business, transit riders, transit advocacy and labor organizations; and several members of the Moore-Miller Administration.

The BRTC emerged as one of a series of recommendations made by the Baltimore Regional Transit Governance and Funding Workgroup, an entity established by the Baltimore Metropolitan Council’s Board of Directors in July 2022 who charged the Workgroup with examining transit governance and funding issues in the region. 

Meetings are open to the public. To provide feedback for the BRTC, please visit our community engagement page at https://publicinput.com/brtc.

Purpose and Mission

Local stakeholders have lacked influence on how the regional transit network is planned, built, operated and funded in our region. The Baltimore Regional Transit Commission was created to provide input, advice and support for the operations of MTA’s core service network in the Baltimore region. Specifically the Baltimore Regional Transit Commission is to provide local and stakeholder perspective and comment on MDOT-MTA and Locally Operated Transit System activities in the Baltimore region. 


Members were selected by Governor Wes Moore, Baltimore City Mayor Brandon Scott, Baltimore County Executive John “Johnny O” Olszewski, Jr., Anne Arundel County Executive Steuart Pittman, and Howard County Executive Calvin Ball III (see full roster below). The Baltimore Metropolitan Council (BMC) and the Maryland Department of Transportation – Maryland Transit Administration (MDOT-MTA) provide support to the Commission.