

The Metropolitan Planning Organization for the Baltimore Region

BALTIMORE REGIONAL SAFETY SUBCOMMITTEE

Thursday, February 24, 2022 10:00 to 11:45 A.M. Virtual meeting

MINUTES

1. WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS

Officer Lori Hippensteel, Baltimore County Police Department (BCoPD), called the meeting to order at 10:00 A.M. She welcomed everyone to the meeting.

2. APPROVAL OF DECEMBER 2021 MINUTES

Ofc. Hippensteel, BCoPD, asked for any comments or changes to the minutes from the December 16, 2021 Baltimore Regional Safety Subcommittee meeting. Receiving none, the minutes were accepted into the record.

3. STATE SAFETY UPDATES

MDOT MVA MHSO - Ms. Myra Wieman, Deputy Director of the Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) Motor Vehicle Administration's (MVA) Highway Safety Office (MHSO), shared information about grant funding through that office.

Ms. Cynthia Spriggs, Pedestrian/Bicycle Program Manager at MHSO, shared information about proposed state legislation in the 2022 session.

[PowerPoint: MHSO Safety]

Ms. Anna Levendusky, Communications Manager for MHSO, shared information from the zerodeathsmd.gov website. She noted the monthly social media toolkits and more features being added to the Resources page in the coming weeks.

MDOT SHA - Dr. Jay Zheng, MDOT State Highway Administration, provided an update of the Highway Safety Improvement Program (HSIP) local funding. He shared that the funding announcement was distributed in mid-February and the process has not changed much from the 2021 cycle.

★ 1500 Whetstone Way, Suite 300, Baltimore, MD, 21230 ★ Phone 410-732-0500 ★ www.baltometro.org

Voting: City of Annapolis, Anne Arundel County, Baltimore City, Baltimore County, Carroll County, Harford County, Howard County, Queen Anne¹s County, MD Department of Transportation and Annapolis Transit. Non-Voting: MD Department of the Environment, MD Department of Planning, and MD Transit Administration. Safety Subcommittee February 24, 2022 Page 2 of 3

4. LOOK ALIVE

Mr. Bala Akundi, Baltimore Metropolitan Council (BMC), provided an update on the Look Alive campaign and its planned re-emergence in the very near future. A consultant has been chosen and contracts are nearly finished.

5. LOCAL STRATEGIC HIGHWAY SAFETY PLANS (SHSP)

Ms. Eileen Singleton, BMC, provided an overview of the Traffic Incident Management for the Baltimore Region (TIMBR) committee. She explained its mission, activities, and updates to the Move Over Law legislation that are under consideration.

[PowerPoint: Overview of TIMBR Committee]

Ms. Cindy Burch, BMC, shared an update of the Local SHSPs in the region:

- Anne Arundel County's Vision Zero plan is out for public comment until March 1, 2022
- Baltimore City has developed a local plan and it is under final review
- Baltimore County continues to implement its SHSP
- Carroll County has finished the Strategic Traffic Safety Plan (STSP) and is scheduling time to present it to the County Commissioners
- Harford County is implementing the SHSP through the Traffic Safety Advisory Board
- Howard County is implementing a Strategic Road Safety Plan (SRSP) and will be sharing it with the county's Bicycle Advisory Group in April 2022
- Plans are being made to reconvene the Queen Anne's County SHSP team

[PowerPoint: Local SHSP Safe System Approach]

6. OTHER/NEW BUSINES

No other discussion was had and Ofc. Hippensteel adjourned the meeting at 11:45 A.M.

After the meeting, information was shared about the Safe Streets and Roads for All discretionary funding in an email.

[PowerPoint: Safe Streets discretionary program]

Next Meeting – May 26, 2022, 10:00 A.M.

Safety Subcommittee February 24, 2022 Page 3 of 3

Attendance:

Tanya Asman – Anne Arundel County Office of Transportation Kim Auman – National Study Center for Trauma & EMS Jessie Bialek - Baltimore County Dept. of Public Works and Transportation (BCo DPW&T) Michael Bomgardner – MDOT Motor Vehicle Admin (MDOT MVA) Highway Safety Office (MDOT MHSO) Angelica Daniel – BCo DPW&T Lindsay Donnellon – Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) Michael Farrell – National Capital Region Transportation Planning Board (TPB) Lori Hippensteel – Baltimore County Police Department (BCoPD) Breck Jeffers – FHWA Debbie Jennings - Chesapeake Region Safety Council Tim Kerns – MDOT MHSO Bari Klein - Healthy Harford/Healthy Cecil Julie Kwedar – MDOT MHSO Anna Levendusky – MDOT MHSO Tom Morehouse – BCoPD Janie Nham - TPB Khadijah Olatunji – MDOT MVA Walter Phillips – MDOT State Highway Administration (MDOT SHA) Shayna Rose – Baltimore City Department of Transportation (BCDOT) John Rotz – MDOT SHA Jon Schermann – TPB Nanette Schieke – MDOT MVA Joseph Twardowski Nicole Waldheim – Burgess & Niple Tracy Whitman – Maryland Department of Health Kids in Safety Seats (KISS) Myra Wieman – MDOT MHSO Graham Young – BCDOT Jay Zheng – MDOT SHA

Staff:

Bala Akundi – Baltimore Metropolitan Council (BMC) Cindy Burch – BMC Eileen Singleton – BMC